skip to main content
Federal Programs
The Simpson County School District provides supplemental services through the Office of Federal Programs. This office is responsible for the administration of Title programs, as well as homeless services and other federal initiatives.

Title I programs include teacher positions to reduce classroom size, professional development for teachers, and supplemental services and supports for students. Title II also funds teacher positions to reduce classroom size, as well as professional development for teachers and administrators.

The McKinney-Vento Act provides services and supports to students who are identified as homeless or as an unaccompanied youth based on the federal guidelines. Counselors serve as homeless liaison staff for each school. The Director of Federal Programs serves as the district’s homeless liaison.

The goals of these programs include student proficiency in core academic subjects, as well as parental involvement. Please contact the Office of Federal Programs if you have any questions.
ALL Nonpublic Schools located within the SCSD Attendance Zone
The Simpson County School District is in the process of preparing its federal programs applications for the 2018-2019 school year. Each nonpublic school located in the Simpson County School District’s attendance zone that would like to participate must provide the district with required information to verify eligibility. Please contact Misty Hanna at 601-847-8000 by March 23, 2018, for more details. All federal programs are contingent upon their reauthorization by the federal government.

Quick Links

Board Policy IK--Limited English Proficiency Instruction

about 1 month ago

By Fran Bridges


  Instructional Program

Policy Code:

IK   Limited English Proficiency Instruction








The BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SIMPSON COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT will provide a program of language instruction to students who have limited English proficiency.  Student participation in any language instruction program or instruction in English as a second language is voluntary and requires written parental permission.




Students who meet any one or more of the following criteria shall be identified as being limited in English proficiency. A student who:

1.    was not born in the United States or whose native language is a language other than English and comes from an environment where a language other than English is dominant; or

2.    is a Native American or Alaskan Native or who is a native resident of the outlying areas and comes from an environment where a language other than English has had a significant impact on the student's level of English language proficiency; or

3.    is migratory and whose native language is other than English and comes from an environment where a language other than English is dominant; and

4.    who has sufficient difficulty speaking, reading, writing, or understanding the English language and whose difficulties may deny such individual the opportunity to learn successfully in classrooms where the language of instruction is English or to participate fully in our society.


1.    The district has a system of assigning a student number if an enrolling student does not have a Social Security number.

2.    The district has a procedure for enrolling a student pending receipt of the required record of immunizations.




1.    It is policy that ELL students are not excluded from special opportunity programs such as programs for the academically gifted or other specialized activities based on English language proficiency.

2.    It is policy that English language learners are allowed to participate in Title I services on the same basis as all students in Title I participating schools.

3.    It is policy that language minority students identified via the Home Language Survey are screened utilizing the MDE adopted assessment instrument.



1.    Parents will be notified of their student's placement in a language program and their options associated with that placement.  Notification will include the reasons for identifying the child as LEP and the reasons for placing the child in the specified program.

2.    Parents will be notified of the child’s level of English proficiency, how such level was assessed, and the status of the child’s academic achievement.

3.    Parents will be notified of the method of instruction used in the program in which their child is, or will be, participating, and the methods of instruction used in other available programs, including how such programs differ in content, instruction goals, and use of English and a native language in instruction.

4.    Parents will be notified of how the program, in which their child is or will be participating, will meet the educational strengths and needs of the child.

5.    Parents will be notified of how such program will specifically help their child learn English, and meet age appropriate academic achievement standards for grade promotion and graduation.

6.    Parents will be notified of specific exit requirements for such program, the expected rate of transition from such program into classrooms that are not tailored for limited English proficient children, and the expected rate of graduation from secondary school for such program if funds under this title are used for children in secondary schools.

7.    Parents will be notified in the case of a child with a disablility, how such program meets the objectives of the individualized education program of the child.

8.    Parents will be notified of information pertaining to parental rights that includes written guidance

1)    detailing-

a)    the right that parents have to have their child immediately removed from such program upon their request; and

b)    the options that parents have to decline to enroll their child in such program or to choose another program or method of instruction, if available; and 

2)    assisting parents in selecting among various programs and methods of instruction, if more than one program or method is offered by the eligible entity. 


LEGAL REF.: P. L.107-110 (No Child Left Behind Act of 2001)

CROSS REF.: Policies IDDF - Special Education Programs

                             II - Testing Programs


English Language Learners (ELL)
English-language learners, or ELLs, are students who are unable to communicate fluently or learn effectively in English, who often come from non-English-speaking homes and backgrounds, and who typically require specialized or modified instruction in both the English language and in their academic courses.

The purpose of the Title III program is to ensure that limited English proficient (LEP) children, including immigrant children and youth, master English and meet the same rigorous standards for academic achievement as all children are expected to meet, including meeting challenging State academic content and student academic achievement standards by developing high-quality language instruction educational programs.